Meet the Designer: Caitlin Reum

Scroll down to content

I’ll always be amazed at this little crafter community and how much the friendships I’ve made being a part of it mean to me. Caitlin, of WildwoodDesignsME, has been one of the kindest, most generous and supportive friends I’ve had the pleasure of “meeting” in our community. I’m always in awe of her skill and her sense of style and I’m so lucky to call her a friend. I hope you enjoy learning more about this terrific designer, dyer, business owner and momma!

Name: Caitlin Reum

Location: Bridgton, Maine

Places You’ve lived: I was born in Waltham, Massachusetts but my family moved to Naples, Maine when I was about 6 months old. I lived there up until I was about 19, then I moved to Bridgton with my husband. 

Temperature blanket strategy: I just picked some of my favorite colors. Purples, blues and greys!

Describe your perfect day: A perfect day for me is just laying low. Bringing my daughter to the park, coming home for her nap time while I crochet/knit and watch some Netflix! It would be even better if my husband cooks dinner or we get take out!

Favorite season: Fall for sure! It’s absolutely beautiful here in Maine! I love when the leaves change colors and the chill in the air!

Favorite crochet stitch or technique: HDC! There’s so much you can do with it!

Favorite project to date: It’s hard to pick just one but I most recently finished the Tunisian Express shawl by Everyday Yarnworks and I love it so much! I want to make another in a different color soon!

Favorite people to make things for? My daughter for sure! I’ve made her a blanket and a few cardigans so far. I also love making things for friends/family who have new babies!

What was your first ever project? It was a long time ago so I’m not 100% sure, but I know I used to make really simple scarves so that’s probably it. I used to only know DC so I’d just chain a really long length and DC for each row until it seemed big enough!

How do you craft (workspace, setting, beverages)? My work space is basically my bedroom. I usually work while my daughter naps/sleeps at night. I’ll watch YouTube, Netflix or Hulu and have a snack until I can’t keep my eyes open anymore and just go to bed!

Favorite Non- Yarn hobbies? One of my favorite hobbies is thrifting, antique shops and yard sales! I love going “hunting” for treasures or a good deal! Before my daughter was born I would go out looking for vintage Pyrex. I have accumulated quite the collection!

What is your inspiration for this design?  I’ve always loved the spike stitch but wanted to add a little something extra, so I included the bobbles! Everyone loves bobbles! I’m really happy with how it came out!

Most unusual talent? I can’t think of anything unusual. 

Favorite Book and Why? I’ve never been much of a reader. I find I don’t really have the patience for it and just get distracted *SQUIRREL!*

What was your favorite Toy as a kid? I have the worst memory but I do remember having a mermaid toy that changed colors in the water. So I’d play with her in the bath tub!

Favorite Beatles song? Let it be!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: